Nysics Clubhouse

A blog that gives you great tips and tricks for great programs

Sync Windows Live Calendar with Windows Mobile, iPhone, etc…(Doesn’t Work)

with 57 comments

Note: This post doesn’t work anymore. At least for now. I’m looking for an alternative.


Lot’s of people have been asking Microsoft to add a calendar syncing feature for Windows Live Calendar. Since Microsoft has not yet added this feature, I’m going to post a work around that will allow you to sync Windows Live Calendar with Windows Mobile, iPhone, or anything that supports Microsoft ActiveSync/Exchange, through Google Calendar and Microsoft Office Outlook. Lets get started.

Note: Updated with troubleshooting info.

Things you need:
Microsoft Office Outlook
Outlook Connector
Windows Live Calendar account
Google Calendar account
Calgoo Connect software and a Calgoo account

Outlook

Let’s start on the Outlook side. First, if you don’t have Office Outlook, I’m sorry. You need it for this post. Second, your going to have to set up Outlook before you continue with this post. If it’s not already set up(as in first screen wizard), just continue without eMail support.

Now that your all ready, download the Outlook Connector here. Install, and set it up. You may need to restart Outlook. When Outlook starts up again, it will ask for you Windows Live Calendar(or ID) account details. Enter your account details, then click “OK.”
image

Now, if you use Outlook as your primary email program, skip this step. Your all done. If not, continue.

Look for the Outlook statusbar icon, right-click on it, then click “Hide when Minimized.”
image

Calgoo

Now, you need to sign up and download Calgoo connect from http://www.calgoo.com/connect/index.do . After downloading, install it. When your done installing it, open the program(if it doesn’t start up automatically), then click theimagebutton to set up calendar sharing.
image

In the window that pops up, select “Sync an Outlook Calendar with a Google Calendar,” then click “Next.”
image

Name the connector, then click “Next.”
image

Select your Windows Live Calendar email address, then select the calendar you want to sync with. For this post, I’ll use Sample Calendar. Click “Next.”
(If CalGoo can’t read your Outlook calendars, go here to try to fix the problem)
image

On the next screen, enter your Google Calendar user details, then click “Next.”
image

Now, if you don’t want to sync with your current Google calendar, click “Create a new calendar.” If you want to sync with a current calendar, click “Browse my Google calendars.” Select a calendar, and make sure it’s your default calendar, or it wont sync with your mobile phone’s calendar.
image

Make sure your info is correct, then click “Next.”
image

Select “Synchronize Now!” then click “Finish.”
image

The calendars should start syncing. Now, to fine-tune everything, click theimageicon, then click the “Synchronize” button. Click the “Synchronization frequency” dropdown. If you add stuff to your calendar all the time, select “On demand.” If you don’t add stuff to your calendar all the time, select “1 Hour.”

This next step is optional. Click the “Application” button.
image

Next, click check/tick the “Start Calgoo Connect automatically when Windows starts” and “Start Calgoo minimized,” then click “Ok.”
image

Mobile Phone

Go to the Google Sync website to find out how to set up your device.

That’s it! Enjoy!

If you get an error when trying to select your outlook calendars, before loosing hope, try restarting your computer. Restarting clears up and junk left in the system memory, and may fix your problem.

If restarting didn’t work, then try this: Close Microsoft Office Outlook and then run the synchronization setup. It should work now.

If that doesn’t work, go here to get some help: http://www.calgoo.com/connect/howto_vista_users.do (Thanks @ BYlvis)

Written by Andreas J.

August 13, 2009 at 2:52 pm

57 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thanks for this info. I followed your instructions however when trying to add a new connector and choose the calendars from Outlook, it says it cannot find any calendars in Outlook. When I open Outlook, all of my Windows Live calendars are there. Any thoughts?

    Thank you

    avsfan0801

    August 16, 2009 at 8:01 pm

    • Hi avsfan0801,

      I have been trying to solve the sync between Oulook and Google because currently the Palm Pre only syncs with Google calendar and contacts. I love Outlook and don’t like Google’s web-only functionality and scaled down features.

      Through all the research, I do remember reading something that the Live calendars that you see in Outlook are in the iCal format, unlike the resident Outlook calendar. (I guess iCal means Internet Calendar, since I know you can download these from your organizations, friends, etc.)

      I think that’s the problem you’re having, but don’t quote me. I did try to merge and/or sync the Outlook main calendar with the Live calendar within Outlook after I had used both by confusion and wanted to integrate the two. I couldn’t find a way to do this. I did look for a solution, but not too hard.

      The problem I am having is a common complaint, so I am hoping to see more solutions in the near future. If you find something, leave a message here. I will get an email. It would be cool to know the solution you are aiming for. Mine is to two-way sync the Palm Pre with Outlook. I know the Outlook connector will two-way sync with Live. Actually, I’d much rather my phone would two-way sync with Live, where Live would sync with Outlook. This would all be over the air and much simpler.

      Best Wishes!

      SoCalFan

      August 17, 2009 at 11:44 pm

    • Select your email address instead of your outlook calendars.

      nysics

      August 18, 2009 at 1:17 am

    • This should nail it – just done it myself and worked perfectly!

      http://windowslive.com/Connect/Post/5636a24b-e73e-4c17-b339-48533cb9fbe0

      Joff

      October 16, 2010 at 4:11 pm

  2. @Andreas

    Thank you for such a well laid out solution here. But, for those of us who use the Outlook Connector to sync with our Windows Live onling, will this work? (see posts above, please)

    Do you have a solution for contacts?

    Best Regards!

    SoCalFan

    August 17, 2009 at 11:49 pm

    • I guess I don’t get what you are asking.

      This is how it’s supposed to work: Windows Live Calendar syncs with the Outlook Connector, which syncs with Outlook, which syncs with Calgoo, which syncs with Google Calendar, which syncs with your mobile phone.

      Oh, and i’m trying to find a solution for contacts, too.
      Hope this helps.

      nysics

      August 18, 2009 at 1:25 am

  3. Thanks nysics! I re-read your instructions after I wrote that, and fear I added confusion unnecessarily. Apparently, avsfan0801 above, has a problem w/ Calgoo seeing her Outlook Calendar.

    If I understand correctly, selecting “email address”, instead of “Outlook Calendars”, during set up will make this work correctly.

    I’m going to give this all a go if Calgoo will work on Vista 64. I’m not too techie, but I can follow your great instructions to the letter.

    So far, the only solution I found to sync Outlook calendar and contacts (not sure about tasks) with the Palm Pre is to pay for a Microsoft Exchange account with a host provider. (In theory it’s supposed to work) Apparently, that also gives one access to Outlook online. I just don’t want an addition $75+ annual expense right now. But, I do like the idea of it.

    I’m looking forward to reading more on your blogs! Wow, you guys wrote an operating system? You can make a fortune if you can write smart phone apps that sync with Windows Live Mail in addition to, and independent of Outlook. I prefer Outlook naturally, but have noted that many are settling for the free Live desktop and online apps that are free.

    THANK YOU KINDLY!

    SoCalFan

    August 18, 2009 at 1:52 am

    • Fun fact: Google Sync is actually powered by Microsoft Exchange. Yes, it’s weird. I know.

      Actually, our OS is built on Ubuntu Linux(you can still see the ubuntu logo all over the OS). It’s supposed to be Ubuntu, but better.

      I’m glad you like our posts. Thanks!

      nysics

      August 18, 2009 at 9:32 pm

  4. Hi Nysics,

    Wow, I just did a search in the Google Calendar Help area of Google and found this Solution for “Syncing Google Contacts with Outlook Contacts” (my search terms) I was there because I totally misread that the Calendar sync wouldn’t work with Vista64. It won’t work with XP64. Anyway, I tried this search for the heck of it, and found this very recent reply. I don’t know if I’m restricted from posting links here, but I’ll try. Otherwise, you might be able to find this by doing the same search I did from within Google Calendar Help.

    I’m very interested in getting your feedback on this and if you think it’s end-user friendly enough for non-techie-geniuses. Thanks so much!

    http://www.google.com/support/forum/p/Calendar/thread?tid=4ec5397302abfc79&hl=en

    Question: How do I sync Google contacts and outlook?

    jtandr
    Level 1
    8/6/09

    All answers
    sfroxxx
    Level 1
    8/15/09
    2 people say this answers the question:
    I use for syncing my contacts with Outlook GOContactSync. Works fine, and the best, it is Open Source.

    http://www.webgear.co.nz/Products/GOContactSync.aspx

    SoCalFan

    August 20, 2009 at 7:23 am

    • I’ve actually been testing that software for the past week or so. It does sync Google Contacts with Outlook, but not the Windows Live contacts within Outlook. I’m currently writing a post about Windows Live Movie Maker, but when i’m done, i’ll write about that too.

      nysics

      August 20, 2009 at 1:45 pm

  5. Will this work if you add or edit calendar entries in your Windows Mobile? Does changes on your mobile update the Google and Windows Live calendar as well?

    John Ericson

    August 22, 2009 at 10:06 pm

    • Yes. The point of this post is to do just that.

      nysics

      August 22, 2009 at 11:54 pm

      • It will, however, create dupes on occasion as the data comes from different sources.

        Rick

        November 2, 2010 at 7:11 pm

  6. This is really amazing. When I first ran Calgoo it did not find any of my Outlook Calendars. However, there was a small link that pointed to help for Windows Vista users. That solved everything and I now have successfully synched my calendar from Windows Live to Outlook and then into Google. The help dirctions are at http://www.calgoo.com/connect/howto_vista_users.do

    BYlvis

    August 24, 2009 at 9:20 pm

  7. Thanks very much. Great work-around. I had been looking for this for so long. Would be nice if Microsoft tried to help with this rather than do the work-around, but regardless I thank you.

    OS: Windows 7 RC1 64bit
    Outlook 2007 + Outlook Connector
    Calgoo v2.1.3
    iPhone Version 2.2.1

    Ben

    September 7, 2009 at 7:23 pm

  8. That’s great, I never thought about Nysics Clubhouse like that before.

  9. My challenge has been getting this to work within a windows server 2003 terminal server RDP sessions.

    Each user has the outlook connector syncing with Windows Live without a problem. Each user connects into the server, via a windows laptop or desktop via RDP session. They open outlook and select their live calender, all happy.

    Now the prime user has an iphone and wants to access/sync her outlook calenders (2 calenders at this stage) with her iphone calender over the RDP session.

    Itunes (9.0.2) won’t load onto a server (Ipod service won’t start), and I’m stuck.

    I’ve considered creating a virtual XP session and syncing outlook/itunes/iphone that way but I’m not VMware/etc aware!

    Your suggestions really appreciated

    Optin

    November 6, 2009 at 8:25 pm

    • What do you mean by “VMware/etc aware”? If you mean you don’t have any virtual host software, you can always try the free VirtualBox(http://www.virtualbox.org/). I don’t know about compatibility with Windows Server, though. Sorry.

      nysics

      November 6, 2009 at 8:32 pm

  10. Great post! I’ve been very interested in Nysics Clubhouse for a long time.

    Tyre

    November 12, 2009 at 10:47 am

  11. Nice level of information here. There is so much data around about this subject that sometimes you cannot see the wood for the trees but you have pitched this at just the right level so that the lay person can understand – thank you!

    Sung Verna

    December 22, 2009 at 2:40 pm

  12. THANKS !!

    It worked just fine. I just had an issue with my proxy settings on calgoo at first but then everything went as you said.
    Thanks a lot again, you just made my day ;-)

    Frenchy

    January 7, 2010 at 10:57 am

  13. The title is a little misleading.

    You need Outlook to make Calgoo work. Live Mail is free. Outlook is a long way from being free. If you are using a Live Mail calendar you probably do not use or have Outlook

    What people are looking for is a way sync calendars between their mobile devices (Iphone for me) and the Live Mail calendar without having to fork over the money for Outlook.

    If I had Outlook could sync through Itunes and I would not be using Live Mail

    SteveH

    January 7, 2010 at 5:33 pm

    • This is supposed to be Over the Air(OTA) syncing. Outlook takes your calendar from Windows Live Calendar using the Outlook extension. So far there is no way to sync Calgoo with Windows Live Mail.

      nysics

      January 7, 2010 at 7:44 pm

  14. I use Windows Live Mail Desktop because I don’t want to pay an Outlook license. What’s the point in using WLMD if you have outlook. This is not really a workaround. It just takes WLMD out of the loop and replaces it with an expensive licensed solution. There’s no point to this.

    Dieter

    February 8, 2010 at 11:34 am

    • Well, you can’t do this without Outlook. If you can, please tell me about it.

      Andreas

      February 8, 2010 at 4:27 pm

  15. I have re-installed Vista and can’t find my Outlook calendar in my backup. I have it on Windows live and want to sync with iPod Touch. I have Outlook connector syncing so I can see Windows Live on Outlook. I also have Google Calendar. My question is, can I use my windows Live on Outlook as my primary calendar to sync with ipod through Calgoo (and Google calendar) so I don’t have to manually enter all my events in my outlook calendar?

    RMW

    February 13, 2010 at 6:01 pm

  16. Calgoo’s been down for maintnance for two days now. Anyone know of a reliable alternative?

    Eric

    February 17, 2010 at 9:42 pm

  17. I can’t download Calgoo following the link http://www.calgoo.com/connect/index.do .
    Anybody can help me ?

    Gael

    February 23, 2010 at 9:13 am

  18. Is the synchronization also possible with yahoo? Thanks.

    Thaysen

    March 10, 2010 at 8:00 pm

  19. […] would like to see on here, or something you need help figuring out. It could be challenging (e.g. Syncing Windows Live Calendar with iPhone), or it could be basic(e.g. How to copy and paste a […]

  20. Do you need calgoo connect after the intial sync into google calendar? the reason i ask is because calgoo is $30.

    Right now i can get my windows live calendar directly into my iphone calendar (for viewing and notification only) and then if i need to add an event i just go to windows live mobile. I’m fine with this process but it’d really like to be able to add events without having to go into the phone’s browser.

    RSpear

    August 3, 2010 at 12:17 pm

    • Microsoft will be implementing Exchange Sync into Hotmail, Windows Live Calendar, and Windows Live Contacts. It’s being rolled out by clusters.

      If Microsoft has upgraded your cluster, you can forget this whole article and just use this information to sync your Windows Live calendar(s) with your iPhone or other mobile device:

      Email: yourmail@live.com or yourmail@hotmail.com
      Server Address: m.hotmail.com
      SSL: Enabled
      Username: yourmail@live.com
      Password: password
      Domain: (Leave it Blank)

      Now, if you keep getting “Password is Incorrect” errors on your phone, you most likely don’t have it… yet.

      Andreas

      August 3, 2010 at 12:54 pm

      • So if we have the “new” hotmail already we should have the Exchange sync?

        Eric

        August 3, 2010 at 5:50 pm

      • No, it’s a separate upgrade.

        Andreas

        August 3, 2010 at 5:52 pm

  21. Hi –

    read through the posts and was wondering if anyone has been able to find a way to two way sync with iphone and windows live, specifically two sync contacts and calendars. see post, http://windowslivehelp.com/thread.aspx?postid=1A0FF0F7-C77F-4470-AFE9-8F63B60716DB#1A0FF0F7-C77F-4470-AFE9-8F63B60716DB, for more info. thanks!

    Graham

    graham

    December 15, 2010 at 5:59 pm

  22. I’ve been surfing online more than 3 hours nowadays, but I never found any interesting article like yours. It is lovely value enough for me. Personally, if all site owners and bloggers made just right content material as you probably did, the web will probably be much more useful than ever before.

    electronic cigarette

    December 11, 2012 at 8:39 pm

  23. I really consider this particular posting , “Sync Windows Live Calendar with Windows Mobile,
    iPhone, etc(Doesnt Work) Nysics Clubhouse”, extremely enjoyable and the post was a fantastic read.

    Thanks for your effort,Stuart

  24. Appreciating the time and energy you put into your site and in depth information you provide.
    It’s good to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same out of date
    rehashed information. Fantastic read! I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m including
    your RSS feeds to my Google account.

    tech support

    January 13, 2013 at 1:01 pm

  25. “Sync Windows Live Calendar with Windows Mobile, iPhone,
    etc(Doesnt Work) | Nysics Clubhouse” fbleadsnow definitely
    enables me think a tiny bit further. I treasured each and every individual piece of this post.

    Thanks a lot ,Christine

    Diane

    March 2, 2013 at 3:46 pm

  26. Hey there! I know this is kinda off topic but I was
    wondering which blog platform are you using for this site?
    I’m getting tired of WordPress because I’ve
    had problems with hackers and I’m looking at alternatives for another platform. I would be great if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.

    outlook sign in

    June 22, 2013 at 6:13 pm

  27. hi!,I like your writing very much! share we keep up a correspondence extra approximately your
    post on AOL? I require an expert in this space
    to solve my problem. May be that is you!
    Looking ahead to look you.

    install whatsapp on

    June 27, 2013 at 3:48 am

  28. I seldom write responses, however i did a few searching and wound up here Sync
    Windows Live Calendar with Windows Mobile, iPhone, etc(Doesnt Work) | Nysics
    Clubhouse. And I do have a couple of questions for you if it’s allright. Could it be simply me or does it seem like a few of the responses appear like they are left by brain dead individuals? :-P And, if you are writing on additional online sites, I would like to follow anything fresh you have to post. Would you make a list of the complete urls of all your shared pages like your twitter feed, Facebook page or linkedin profile?

    download free kik

    July 11, 2013 at 12:53 am

  29. 1 of the major variables that cause substantial harm to our
    skin cells is exposure to ultraviolet radiation of the sun.

    is psoriasis

    July 22, 2013 at 5:46 am

  30. You may notice that the concept of compensation plan may seem to be common in the networking industry.
    It’s a good idea to have separate email promotions for prospects and customers, too, because you typically need to send different information to the different groups. Therefore it’s better to
    always do the intelligent point and take these tips.

    online form generator

    July 31, 2013 at 6:35 am

  31. Those that cannot apply for this kind of card or that would prefer a different solution could consider a prepaid card
    that comes with a credit building element as an alternative.
    You might get one or more benefits of outline designer along with it is the ideal means to unleash the capacities.
    You wont get a true imitation of your signature with this Android app, unless you can
    cleverly manipulate the mechanics behind its operation,
    but that is highly unlikely.

    online form generator

    July 31, 2013 at 6:50 am

  32. Horizontal Siding and Vertical Sliding refers to the outer layer of a wall,
    with shingles or boards or gaps subtly angled
    to shed water. It’s easy to use a fake IP address on i – Phone and i – Pad, but you need to know what you need the fake IP for. Therefore it’s better to always do the intelligent point and take these tips.

    Online form generator

    July 31, 2013 at 8:50 am

  33. Those that cannot apply for this kind of card or that would prefer a
    different solution could consider a prepaid card that comes with a credit building element
    as an alternative. Rather, they’re designed to help spark possibilities in your own mind. If a picture is worth a thousand words then you can just image how much you will absorb by browsing this site.

    online form generator

    July 31, 2013 at 9:03 am

  34. There are a number of benefits associated
    with form builder just the same way it is the best tool to showcase potential.

    To get me going with preparing my own building drawings I got from the Thai Government
    website a number of ready made Thai building drawings
    in pdf and Auto – CAD format. The 5th brand new feature may be the point of
    view sketching tools.

    visual form builder

    July 31, 2013 at 9:11 am

  35. Cheers to your PROFITmatic Turnkey Automated Internet Profit Center,.
    It’s a good idea to have separate email promotions for prospects and customers, too, because you typically need to send different information to the different groups. You can make corrections directly instead of having to search mistake through the code, if something does not seem OK for you.

    online form generator

    July 31, 2013 at 5:50 pm

  36. Save All Paperwork: Whatever paperwork arrives
    with your parts or which is provided from the seller should be maintained.
    He knew the system well enough to not pay many of his suppliers and
    sub-contractors, then would cover it up up by handing out fake lien
    releases to make it look like they were paid. Once safely at Thebes,
    though, the obelisks were brought to the temple at Karnak with much
    fanfare.

    online form builder

    July 31, 2013 at 10:02 pm

  37. Now is the time to pump up your immune system.

    detox diet

    October 18, 2013 at 5:19 am

  38. These are impacted by the type of product or service, and how readily they
    lend themselves to being promoted by this format. And if you
    miss a part or don’t understand a portion of it, you can always rewind it and see it again. All
    of these are a form of gathering together as a
    group to discus or present information.

  39. I blog frequently and I really appreciate your information. This great article has truly peaked
    my interest. I am going to take a note of your site and keep checking for new details
    about once per week. I subscribed to your RSS feed as well.

    youtube.com

    June 4, 2014 at 2:01 am

  40. Various Categories of Android Game apps possible are.
    For the Android, Android Game developer India also leads the
    market to offer theord services on global platform. The fact that it’s only available in English is a limiting factor to those who don’t
    speak the language.

    Boom Beach Extra Diamonds

    September 16, 2014 at 10:11 am

  41. I get pleasure from, cause I found exactly what I used to be taking
    a look for. You have ended my four day long hunt!
    God Bless you man. Have a great day. Bye

    huubing.com

    September 24, 2014 at 2:35 am

  42. It is actually a great and helpful piece of info. I’m satisfied that you shared this helpful
    information with us. Please keep us up to date
    like this. Thank you for sharing.

    Here is our website:

    http://iphones6giveaway.tk/

    Houston

    October 29, 2014 at 4:13 pm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

